Skip to main content

About Us
Card Keys
Destiny Code
Just for Fun
Solar Cards
Card Numbers
Tarot FAQs
Site Map
Terms of Use
Member Login

Tarot Cards FAQs


How many tarot cards are in a deck?
There are 78 cards in a standard deck. 22 Major Arcana and 56 Minor Arcana cards.


What does Arcana mean?
A profound secret or mystery.


What is the difference between the Major and Minor Arcana?
The Major Arcana cards have symbolic meanings: the world, the mind, and change.

The Minor Arcana cards have theme meanings and are divided into 4 suits, 4 seasons, 4 elements, 4 directions, 4 colors, and 4 parts of the being.


Why are there only 22 Major Arcana cards?
The cards are number from 0 to 21. They represent the Tree of Life.


Why are the four suits for the Minor Arcana cards and what themes do they represent?
Cups reflect emotions and relationships.
Wands(Staves or Rods) reflect creativity and work.
Pentacles (Coins) reflect security and money.
Swords reflect conflict and change.


Why are the four seasons for the Minor Arcana cards?
Cups represents Spring.
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents Summer.
Pentacles (Coins) represents Autumn.
Swords represents Winter.


Why are the four elements for the Minor Arcana cards?
Cups represents Water. (passive)
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents Fire. (active)
Pentacles (Coins) represents Earth. (passive)
Swords represents Air. (active)


Why are the four aspects of the being for the Minor Arcana cards?
Cups represents Soul.
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents Spirit.
Pentacles (Coins) represents Body.
Swords represents Mind.


Why are the four directions for the Minor Arcana cards?

Cups represents West.
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents North.
Pentacles (Coins) represents East.
Swords represents South.


Why are the four colors for the Minor Arcana cards?
Cups represents Blue.
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents Red.
Pentacles (Coins) represents Green.
Swords represents Yellow.


Why are the astrological signs for the Minor Arcana cards?
Cups represents Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.
Wands(Staves or Rods) represents Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.
Pentacles (Coins) represents Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.
Swords represents Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.

Back To Top